Renaissance Recorder-consort

Workshop marks/signs on instruments

Hier. S

f  c’ c’ g
Dated to the mid of the 16th century, Venice
pitch a = 521 Hz

At the base of the original instruments from the collection in the “Kunsthistorischen Museum” in Vienna there is a stamp with the letters HIERS.S e.g. HIE.S (on the basset-recorder).These stamps can be accredited to Hieronymus Solonbron, who worked in Venice toward the end of the 16th century as Armando FIABONE could show. Because of the different variations of his stamps we may assume that these people were also member of the same family, although this still remains uncertain. It is however, known that they did have contact to the Bassano family, who were also makers, musicians and composers themselves.
The interpretation as “HironymuS Bassano” must be qualified as wild guess, though. (cf. the otherwise outstanding new catalogue of the “ Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien”)
The instruments signed with the stamps HIER.S, HIE.S and HIERO.S have quite astounding and remarkable tonal and technical qualities.Because of the amazing accuracy in pitch, and an optimal sound when played together, we found it unnecessary to change anything on these instruments, or falsify this original sound. The result is in-any case very convincing.This was acknowledged by Jeanette van Wingerden (Amsterdam) and Hans-Maria Kneis (Vienna).The pitch of the instruments is a=521 and in Quint-intervals (F B f c’ c’ g’)
Alto and tenor can be made in either one piece, or with a joint in the middle of the instrument. The Bass recorder has a separate foot-piece.

You can listen to three pieces by Ludwig Senfl, Michael Praetorius and Josquin des Prez. The Klemisch-Consort Berlin plays the Hier. S- consort by Guido M.Klemisch

G.Klemisch: G.M. Klemisch, „Die Kernspaltflöte um 1500“ in „Heinrich Isaac und Paul Hofhaimer im Umfeld...“, Innsbruck 1997)
William Waterhouse, „The New Langwill Index“ London, 1993, ISBN 0-946113-04-1
Pillip T. Young , 4900 Historical Woodwind Instruments, London 1993